How to block websites from tracking location on Chrome

While browsing on Google Chrome, some websites may attempt to track your nearby or accurate location. Various companies like e-commerce, travel, restaurants, and search engines want to show you the relevant products and information in your location. Therefore, in this blog post, we will reveal an easy method to block websites from tracking your location on Chrome.

However, sharing location with a website is not always be a poor impact rather it has its own benefits. With the help of it, you can easily maintain privacy concerns for many people. Besides, even though you will receive a consent prompt but it’s easy to make a mistake. Although, if you earlier allowed a site to know your location, Google Chrome makes it simple to switch the settings to block the website. Here, you’ll learn the steps to block an allowed website from tracking your location.

How to block websites from tracking location on Google Chrome

Here is an easy approach to stop websites from tracking your location on Chrome-

Step-1: At first, open your Chrome Browser.

Step-2: Go to the top-right corner of the page and click on the main menu.

Step-3: From the visible options, hit the Settings.

Step-4: Click on Advanced from the left pane.

Advanced Options

Step-5: Select Privacy and security.

Step-6: Switch to the right side and click on Site Settings.

Site settings

Step-7: Under the Permissions section, click on Location.

Allow or block location

Step-8: Hereafter, in the Allow section, select the website that you want to block.

block website from tracking location on Chrome

Step-9: Underneath the Permissions region, use the Location drop-down menu and select the Block option.

block website from tracking location on Chrome

Once you complete the above procedure, the website that you blocked will no longer be permitted to track your current location. You may need to repeat Steps No. 8 and 9 to block additional websites.

Quick Tip

Alternatively, you may press the icon next to the website URL in the address bar and alter its default settings.

When you enter the “Location” settings page, you will see a trashcan (Delete icon) under the “Allow section”. In case you don’t want a particular website having access to your location, simply hit that icon. Keep this in mind that whenever you open that specific webpage again, this will ask again for the location access in a prompt. Just ignore that pop-up and this will fade soon.

More on Chrome: