How to Clear Autofill Entries on Chrome

Google Chrome is one of the most widely used browsing applications all over the world. Users use it for several purposes like purchasing some subscriptions, saving addresses where they want goods to be delivered, and others.

Google saves all your data and prompts you the autofill entries the next time you want to perform a similar purchase. If you haven’t cared for this till now but want to clear all autofill entries from Chrome, follow this guide till the end. 

Clear Autofill on Google Chrome

Why should One clear Autofill entries on Chrome? 

There are things that you don’t want any browser to remember due to privacy or security reasons. This includes saving passwords, payment method information, or saved addresses. Though the saved-in information eases our online work, it always poses data breaches. 

If you are concerned about third-party apps stealing your valuable information or don’t trust any browser to memorize the password for you, it’s better to clear all autofill entries from there. 

Fix Google Chrome Invalid URL Error

How to Clear All Autofill Entries on Google Chrome

Autofill entries on Chrome consist of saved passwords, payment methods, and saved addresses inside it. If you would like to have a look at the saved data on your browser and manually edit a few of them, follow these steps – 

  • First of all, open Google Chrome.
  • Click the three vertical dots available in its topmost right corner. See the Snapshot below –

More tools Clear browsing history on Chrome

  • When this menu expands, choose More tools > Clear browsing data…
  • Alternatively, you may also use the ctrl + shift + del hotkey to enter the ClearBrowserData page.
  • Go to the Advanced tab, and select All time using the drop-down menu available next to the Time range
  • Tick all the checkboxes, including “Autofill form data” and “passwords and other sign-in data”. In case you would like to preserve stored passwords, you may uncheck the box against it. 
  • Click Clear data and wait for Chrome to purge all entries stored on it. 

Clear browsing history on Chrome

After this page reloads, all your saved data will be removed from your Chrome browser.

How to Stop Chrome Saving Images in Webp Format

Manually Clearing Autofill entries on Chrome

In case you only want to clear some specific autofill entries like bank passwords, or official account sign-in information, follow these steps –

1. Edit Password Manager 

Google Chrome provides its users the option to look over the saved passwords on it, edit them, and if needed, remove them from there. Here’s how to open the settings page on Chrome, and modify them as needed. 

  • Click on the three vertical dots on Google Chrome, and select Settings.
  • Select Autofill from the left navigation, and head over to the right pane.
  • Click on Password Manager to view all your saved passwords. 
  • Scroll down to the Saved passwords and you may see all your passkeys stored here. 
  • To view a password, you need to click on the eye icon. Your PC will prompt for a PIN, fingerprint, or other sign-in info to confirm it’s really you. 
  • After you provide the requested info, look for the site that you want to remove from Chrome’s database. 
  • Once located, click the three dots next to a saved password, and hit the Remove button.

View Saved passwords on Chrome

  • The chosen site will be removed from the Saved Passwords list on Chrome. 

Note: If you don’t want any new password saving on Chrome, or want to prevent Auto sign-in on Chrome, you may disable the following two toggle switches inside the Password Manager. 

    • Offer to save passwords
    • Auto Sign-in

Scan saved Passwords on Chrome

Chrome provides a great tool by which you can check if your saved passwords are secured enough against recent data breaches. For this, you need to hit on the button – Check passwords. See the Snapshot above.

Fix: Not Enough Memory To Open This Page in Google Chrome

2. Clear Payment Methods saved on Chrome

Google Chrome allows its users to clear specific payment autofill entries from its interface. If you want to perform this task, follow these steps –

  • On your Chrome browser, type “chrome://settings/autofill” in its URL and press Enter.
  • Click Payment methods to see what cards and payment information are saved inside Chrome. 

Payment methods on Chrome

  • Scroll down to the Payment methods section, and look for your particular card or other saved info. 
  • When you find the payment method that you would like to delete from here, click the Remove button. 

Note: If you don’t want Chrome to save and fill payment methods shortly, disable the related toggle switch. For your convenience, we have depicted this toggle switch under Payment methods.

Save and fill payment methods on Chrome

That’s it, you have successfully cleared the saved payment methods on your Chrome browser.

3. Clear Saved Address on Chrome

The procedure to clear Saved addresses on Chrome looks similar to that of clearing payment methods. Instead of payment methods, this section consists of information on saved addresses. So, visit Chrome’s Settings > Autofill > Addresses and more, and remove the specific addresses from there. 

Proceeding this way, one may clear his/her phone number, email address, or shipping address from the Chrome browser. 

Remove Saved Addresses and more from Chrome

Note: If you want, you may disable the toggle switch next to Save and Fill addresses on Chrome. After you enable this toggle switch, Google Chrome will never suggest saving addresses (email, shipping), or phone numbers on it. 

How to Fix HTTP ERROR 431 in Google Chrome

How do I delete a few passwords stored in my Google Account? 

Whenever you sign in to your account on Chrome, the browser pops up a menu suggesting to save the entered password. It might happen that you didn’t want to save the passkey, however, have authorized saving this password accidentally. If that’s the case and you want to undo this action, you need to follow the below steps – 

  • First of all, click on your profile picture and select Manage your Google Account
  • When your Google account page opens up, select Security from the left navigation.

Security under Google Account

  • Head over to the right pane, and scroll down to “Signing in to other sites“.
  • In this section, you will find the Password Manager option. Well, click on the arrow available beside Password Manager. 

Open Password Manager on Chrome

  • You will see a list of sites and apps whose sign-in information has been stored in your Google account. 
  • Select any app or site
  • The browser will prompt signing into your account. Use your Google password to log into your account. 
  • You are now able to view the stored password on Google Chrome. Click on the eye button to view your password. In case you would like to edit or delete this password, click on the respective buttons. 

Whatever you perform here on Google Chrome, the same will auto-sync through all your devices. This will occur only if you have enabled “Sync” on your current device. One may confirm this by clicking on his/her profile picture. If this is enabled, you will see “Sync is On“.

How to Fix Google Chrome Invalid URL Error

How do I clear cookies and other site data on Chrome?

Autofill entries on Chrome come from the cookies and cache that you have allowed a site to store on your browser. If you don’t want to continue storing cookies or want to clear the cookies saved so far on your Chrome from a specific site, use these steps –

  • Press on the three vertical dots on Chrome. When this menu expands, select Settings
  • Select Privacy & Security on the left pane. Head over to the right pane and click on Cookies and other site data.

Cookies and other Site data on chrome

  • Scroll down and click See all site data and permissions
  • On the succeeding screen, search for the website name in the Search field and when the matching result pops in, click the delete button.

Clear specific site cookies on Chrome

Note: If you want, you may also click on Clear all data. When you do so, the data from all sites will be lost forever. So, choose whichever option suits you the most. 

I hope you find this article useful and that the steps to clear autofill entries work seamlessly on your computer. Let us know in the comment section if you face any difficulty following any section in this guide. 

Leave a Reply